Birthday!

Guess who had a birthday yesterday! This girl did! *points to self* I celebrated with the family and I couldn’t ask for anything more…well we could have gone to Six Flags, but since it was supposed to rain, we decided to do dinner instead. Of course since we did that, it didn’t rain a drop on my birthday >_> I’m sure if we went to Six Flags instead, it would have rained all day because life and nature like to mock people like that.

I’ve slowly but surely been making progress in Japanese and Korean. Think I can make JLPT N2 by December? (Apparently we can only take the test in December in America and I doubt I’ll be in Japan by July haha) I think I can! I know I can! *pumps self up* I’ve been using the Shin Kanzen Master series and I plan to “revise” with the Sou-Matome Series. I figure they cover mostly the same grammar points and maybe I’ll learn something new from the second series.

I’ve also been really into Korean again. I stopped studying Korean to focus more on Japanese since that’s what I majored in, but my love for Korean has been rekindled. So I bought Talk To Me In Korean’s (TTMIK) Real Life Conversations book (and got 20% off cause I was one of the first 100 customers) and I love it! The conversations are thorough (for introductions, it’s not the basic “Hi, how are you? My name is John” or that 자기 소개 where you have to say like a paragraph introducing yourself in front of the class). The dialogues actually seem like situations that you could come across and I’ve laughed a few times cause the TTMIK staff knows how to keep things interesting…or maybe it’s just easy to make me laugh haha. I listen to the conversation once to check how much I understand, then i dictate it. By dictating (that’s a word right? O.o) it, I mean I write the dialogues line by line (I think a lot of people dictate by writing while listening, but I do better listening, then writing. Since I don’t write a lot, writing by hand is extra slow which is why i study the way I do.) I check my script against the actual transcript, make corrections, and look up words I don’t know. Then I check the English translation to make sure I’m understanding correctly, rewrite the entire correct dialogue (they’re usually about 1 minute and 30 seconds so it’s not too bad), and listen to the dialogue again while reading the correct script to re-enforce what I learned. There’s an exercise following with about 4-7 English sentences and you are asked to translate them to Korean. Then you move on to the next dialogue! I love the TTMIK team so much and you can tell they want their learners to understand and they have good quality products (this is bad English, don’t follow my example guys) and this is not a sponsored post, haha. I think I’m done bragging about the TTMIK team.

Oh! I’ve also been studying to get my permit, but now I might not take the permit test. Grammy said their (meaning grammy and papa) insurance cost will go up, and right now no one has the money to spare for that so…..gonna leave that alone for now. But I guess it’s still nice to know the rules of the road…although after reading the book, most of it just seems like common sense. I guess after so long riding in the car you just pick stuff up when it comes down to it.

Aaaaannnnnddd I’m done with this post! ^_^ Enjoy the rest of your March (in case I don’t make another post this month 😅)!!!!

Leave a Reply

