Finally!

IT…IS…DONE!!!!!

History essay-check

Designing Websites in Japanese website proposal paper and presentation (both in Japanese)-check

Capstone (class that incorporates what we’ve learned over the four years, similar to senior project) presentation and paper (only the paper had to be in Japanese)-check

Computer science turtle project-check

Korean final-check!

All of my classes are done!!!! *dances in my room* I’m on break for about three and a half weeks now. When I got back home, I started watching something called The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker that Debbie Allen produced. It seemed good at first, but I was so tired from staying up all night the night before, that I fell asleep halfway through the movie/play. It was shown on TV, but it was in theater form. My grandma recorded it, so I can finish watching it later 🙂 I guess I’m not completely free yet. I still have to write something about public safety for my Korean class, but for some reason it’s easier to get through my Korean writing assignments than Japanese, despite my Japanese being at a higher level O.o I don’t understand my brain haha. Anyway, I’m back home, and can relax for a bit. This is wonderful.

Usually around finals time, I start ordering out more for food. I spent about $60 on food in this week alone @_@ My excuse is I ran out of food in my room (which is actually true) so ordering out is my only option. Going grocery shopping when I’m about to leave didn’t really make sense to me even if it probably would have saved me more money. If I finished my history essay when I wanted to (by Tuesday), I wouldn’t have kept ordering out cause I would have been home earlier. Oh well.

Speaking of that essay, working on the finals helped confirm what I already knew about why I don’t self study languages or anything else I want to learn. I have no self-discipline and am terrible at following schedules. But I do allot enough time (barely) to get done what needs to be done. For my last computer science homework, I got it turned in at 11:50 and it was due at 11:55. Same for both of my Japanese assignments. I know how to figure out exactly how much time is needed when a deadline must be met. That’s good and bad in a way. It’s good that I have a realistic perception of my time, but bad in the sense that because I know how I work, I wait until the last possible minute to work.

The reason I’m bringing this up is I’m considering doing a Master’s in computer science. I thought about doing the Korean Government Scholarship Program (KGSP) and focusing on Digital Media or Graphic Design (I have had an interest in that, but I thought my current school focuses more on the engineering aspects with a few classes for actually designing), but doing the CS class this semester made me happy. After you finally learn how to do it, it becomes pretty fun. My major is Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies with a concentration in Japanese, but because it’s a technical school, even if you’re not an engineer, you have to have some technology related classes as a requirement. Because we have that requirement, I took the computer science class and really liked it (got a 98 as my final grade ^^). So now I’m thinking of staying at that school because they have a really good computer science program. But computer science can take a lot of time and may seem tedious at times. If I want to try to handle a CS Master’s, I really need to learn how to manage my time.

Is it recommended to stay at the same school where you already have resources and whatnot, or should you try to expand your horizons and do something else. I would love to do my Master’s in Korea, but by the time I want to go to Korea (September 2015) even if I become able to speak Korean fluently, that fluency would most likely be in daily conversations. If I can’t do normal everyday things, how can I expect to do Computer Science? So what’s holding me back from that is having to take CS classes in Korean but not quite having the proficiency. Another thing is when applying for the KGSP, it’s best to do your Master’s in what you have experience in; whatever you studied at Undergrad, or if you have a lot of work experience. My major is completely different from CS and I have absolutely no work experience, except one internship I did at NASA back in high school. Not even that relates to computer science in any kind of way. I don’t think mentioning I took 2 CS classes would convince them that I’m ready to take CS in Korea. A Master’s degree is a big commitment in itself, but doing it in another country just makes it harder. I’m sure there are other ways to go to school in Korea, but KGSP seems to be the way to go when you don’t have a steady income. I would like to avoid loans for as much as possible.

Over the break, I’ll probably be worrying about this a lot. I might apply for the KGSP, but if I do that, I definitely want to start thinking of programs and what I want to do now. There seem to be a lot of requirements that need to be handled in in a timely manner. If I apply to KGSP, I might major in something related to International Affairs/Public Policy, but if I choose to stay here, I would do CS. I hate having to think about the future, but at least I have options to choose from.

Leave a Reply

